Friday, November 16, 2012

Book Review: A Mysterious Death at Sainik Farms

A Mysterious Death at Sainik Farms, as the title makes it obvious is a detective novel set in Delhi. What makes the novel unique is the way it is told without much embellishments and theatrics. Author Rukmani Anandani has a lucid style and a mellifluous voice that lets the pace build up on its own and climaxes rather nicely. I wouldn’t dare give the plot away, for its for the reader to enjoy.

Detective GP Iyer has his flaws but is an endearing investigator. He is a brainy South Indian with a droopy moustache and is not as old as he seems from his name. He is fond of reciting Kural poetry, some of which are featured in the novel:

Inordinate desire destroys the home
And leads to crime at once.

Goes with the mood set by the novel. It’s good to read an Indian detective novel written in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot. And, how can I forget Sherlock Holmes?

No comments: